A Real Single Woman’s Anthem

Earlier this year, I wrote about why I don’t consider Beyonce’s “Single Ladies” a girl power anthem.  (That still holds true.)  Luckily, Kelly Clarkson has delivered one on her latest album.

I’ll admit, I groaned a little at the cliche of the title (“What Doesn’t Kill You”).  Notice that the subtitle, or whatever that thing is called, is “Stronger”, which is much less cliche, but also the same name as a Britney Spears break-up anthem.  This one’s just a bit better though.  Aside from its infectious, dance-worthy (or run-worthy — definitely run-worthy) beat and melody, it showcases Kelly’s superior vocals.

My favorite lines are in the chorus:

What doesn’t kill you makes you stronger, stand a little taller, doesn’t mean I’m lonely when I’m alone
What doesn’t kill you makes a fighter, footsteps even lighter, doesn’t mean I’m over ’cause you’re gone
What doesn’t kill you makes you stronger, stronger
Just me, myself, and I

Ladies, this is a song whose message we can rally around.  Playing on repeat on my iPod indefinitely?  Yes.  Pumping me up on my runs or just any time in general?  Most definitely.


This entry was posted in Music. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

