Music Tuesdays: Without Me

Guess who’s back?  Back again?

So it’s been awhile (three weeks today)!  I figured I’d ease back into your favorite pop culture blog with some aptly-versed Eminem.  I’m a big Eminem fan, even if my iPod seems to think I want to listen to him ALL the time, and he’s great for running to.

I spent a number of years working as a camp counselor, indulging my inner kid every single day, all summer long.  It helped a lot that I was the same height as the campers, so I blended in easily.  I took care of the “juniors” (6 to 8 year olds), and as all the juniors moved up and became “seniors” (turned 9), I went with them.  Unlike 8-year-olds, 9-year-olds are no longer interested in making marshmallow snowmen or candy firecrackers.  No, 9-year-olds want their counselors to bring in radios so they can have a dance party.

Much like now, I was then quite out of touch with current music trends.  (Case in point: a guy at work last week was talking about Mumford and Sons and I had no idea who he was talking about.)  I had a vague inkling of who Eminem was at the time.  One of the young’ins had brought in his (clean) copy of The Marshall Mathers LP, and we popped it into the CD player.  The Real Slim Shady came on and before I knew it, all these little 9-year-olds were bouncing around, rapping, singing every single word to a song I had never, ever heard.

It was the first time in my life that I felt really, really old.

This entry was posted in Music, Music Tuesdays. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

