The Voice: Beautiful Harmonies

The Voice on NBC

Better late than never, right?  (The recap, that is.)

I thought this week’s episode of The Voice was a good improvement over last week’s.  I had high expectations for this week’s episode, because my cousin was BBMing (no iPhones here!) with with me during the episode and telling me how good it was.  I love a good harmony, so I enjoyed this week’s episode quite a bit, and it doesn’t hurt that we said good-bye to some more of my least favorites.

Not a lot of surprises this week, and a standout performance of Radiohead’s “Creep” to boot.  We’ve got one more week of battles, and then the live rounds (finally) start!

Battle 1: Raquel Castro vs. Julia Eason (Christina’s Team)

Whoa, whoa – Raquel Castro was in Jersey Girl (with Ben Affleck and Jennifer Lopez, in case you didn’t know)?  I’m not sure why they keep harping on the fact that Julia is a “soccer player” – oh right, I forgot, you can’t be athletic and artistic.  Duh.  Christina picked Rihanna’s “Only Girl in the World” for the two girls to battle over.  I don’t know about you, but I was mesmerized by Raquel’s hair – how does she get it so straight and shiny!  And maybe it was just my TV, but I was straining to hear their actual voices over the music.  Even though I always root for the Asians/half-Asians, I thought Raquel’s voice was much stronger, as was her stage presence, and the judges seemed to agree.  (But Cee Lo – please stop with the “pretty girl” shit.  You’re starting to give me the willies.)  Unsurprisingly, Raquel went through and Julia went back to playing soccer.

Battle 2: Dia Frampton vs. Serabee (Blake’s Team)

I don’t even remember Serabee – did we see her audition?  (No.)  Apparently she’s a preacher’s daughter?  And another one of those awesome “artists” who only need to go by one name.  Blake’s advice to her about not overdoing and singing too much was spot on, and can we just give Reba her own show already?  Oh, wait…

I hated the way Dia sang the song, and good Lord did she look scared.  Maybe it’s because I grew up grooving to Diana Ross and The Supremes, but I was not a fan of her version.  Nor was I a fan of Serabee’s vocal stylings, which were screechy and over the top.  I agree with Cee Lo that the performance was just bizarre.  In the end, Blake went with Dia, which I think was the right choice.  It was also not a super surprising choice either, due to Serabee’s lack of screen time.

Battle 3: Rebecca Loebe vs. Devon Barley (Adam’s Team)

Adam paired Homeless (oh, sorry, Carson – Traveling Indie) Rebecca with Kevin Covais-lookalike Devon for a “Creep” (by Radiohead) battle.  We got a little preview of their performance, with an bonus Adam performance, and Adam picked a good song for really showcasing their vocal abilities, as it’s a somewhat simple song, and being downtempo, it doesn’t call for the theatrics and level of performance that the more upbeat songs require.  I thought their performance was really good – the harmonies were amazing – and they sounded great together.  It seemed like it could go either way, but the judges gave the slight edge to the Future Dr. Barley.

Battle 4: Kelsey Rey vs. Tori and Taylor Thompson (Cee Lo)

The little Thompson girls kind of weird me out, mainly because I spend most of my time trying to figure out if they’re twins.  We already know my feelings about Kelsey Rey (who has now been upgraded to an “online sensation”, apparently), who already has a bunch of weird music videos on YouTube and who was always “the pretty face who could sing”.  I’m sure I don’t have to tell you who I was rooting for.  Cee Lo picked “Unwritten” by Natasha Bedingfield for the battle.  I personally enjoyed the harmonies and performance of Tori and Taylor, but I think Kelsey’s voice was a bit stronger.  In the end, Cee Lo shocked the hell out of me by picking the Thompson sisters.

The Voice is on Tuesday nights, at 10/9C on NBC.

This entry was posted in Music, Reality TV, TV. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

