Opening Weekend Preview for May 26th

Movie Theater Box Office

Wherein we preview those movies invading the box office this weekend.

Now you get to see how nonexistent my sense of humor is: I didn’t find The Hangover, the precursor to tonight’s sure-to-be-#1-at-the-box-office comedy, The Hanger 2, very funny.  Everyone kept talking it up like it was the funniest thing they’d ever seen.  I remember laughing a few times, but I can’t actually name a single scene I laughed at.  That being said, I’m sure 8 thousand trillion billion people are going to go see The Hangover 2 (official IMDb name: The Hangover Part II) this weekend, and the studios got the early jump on the Memorial Day weekend traffic by opening on Thursday instead of Friday.


For the kiddies (and me), Jack Black’s second outing as everyone’s favorite karate-kicking panda arrives in theaters tomorrow, May 27th.  Kung Fu Panda 2 features a veritable Who’s Who of voice actors and looks to be the same level of popcorn fun as the first one, but there’s no way I’m going to see this in theaters.  Movies + kids + movie theaters = high on my list of things I don’t like.


Terrence Malick crawls out of his hidey hole to bring you The Tree of Life, starring Brad Pitt, Sean Penn, and Jessica Chastain.  Despite winning the prestigious Palme d’Or at Cannes this year, audiences seem divided on the film itself.  One thing viewers probably aren’t divided on?  How good Brad Pitt looks. The Tree of Life opens in limited release.

This entry was posted in Film. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

