Fringe – “6:02 AM EST”: Playing God

“I don’t know my way around here. Other people, I suppose, find comfort being in chapels, speaking to you. I have no other place to turn. I asked you for a sign, and you sent it to me. A white tulip. And i was so grateful. Since then, in moments of deep despair, I have found solace in believing that you had forgiven me. I was willing to let him go. I was willing to let Peter die. I’ve changed. That should matter. God, I know my crimes are unforgiveable. So punish me. Do what you want to me. But I beg you, spare our world. “

Fringe has deftly avoided commenting on religion throughout the run of the show, rather choosing to focus on the emotional impacts the events of the show have had on the main characters.  However as the potential impacts of the events of the patter and the in progress collision of our two universes on the greater populous of “over here” the larger implications of the decisions made by our dramatis personae becomes unavoidable.  What happens when you play god?

Fringe announced its intentions to tackle the subject on Good Friday with of course…a swarm of locusts.  Walternate has always been somewhat of a reluctant participant in the destruction of our world, the decision a matter of its us or them.  In fact Walternate is willing to even sacrifice his own son, Peter still on our side of the divide.  Of course it’s not just Walternate who fears losing his son, our Walter faces precisely the exact same dilemma.  Ultimately they both choose to go through with the sacrifice echoing Abraham and Isaac.  When Peter’s attempt to stop the machine goes awry, Walter reaches out to the big man upstairs.  Since it seems unlikely that Peter will perish (obeying television rules 101 – don’t kill off the star) it will be interesting to see how the Fringe writers handle and interpret the events of the final two hours of the season given Walter’s pleas.

The writers will also have to respond to the outside world as well.  To date the events of the series have been isolated in nature, explained away with a series of ordinary natural and man-made phenomena.  However if the disruptions to this universe continue to accelerate, the events of Fringe will suddenly become thrust in front of the greater population just like “over there.”  Playing god has far reaching impacts.

This entry was posted in TV. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

