Chicago Code – “St. Valentine’s Day Massacre”: The Queen stay the Queen

As was previously established, I’m new around here.  You might say that we’re still in the first-date portion of my writing stuff and you reading it.  Getting to know one another, making small talk.  You tell me that you think the fish looks good, I tell you that I’m a big fan of cop shows.  It’s true, I am.  Not your police procedurals mind you, I don’t truck with that alphabet soup nonsense (next on CBS, a very special episode of CSI: Lake Wobegon!), no I’m talking about cop shows.  Shows about coarse men with anger problems and drinking issues and guns.  There’s the big ones like The Wire and the The Shield, but I also enjoy Southland, loved Life (RIP), was one of, I believe, seven people that watched The Unusuals when it was on ABC, and more recently have been hooked by The Killing (Alan Dale totally did it, that man can kill with nothing but his cold, icy stare… so, so cold).

This is all a lengthy way of getting around to saying that I’ve truly enjoyed the first nine episodes of Chicago Code, in this the first season.  Since I haven’t been around here to write about the first eight episodes, let me briefly say that I came into this show with high hopes, it being Shawn Ryan and all, and was very pleased with the strong cast and interesting cinematography.  It’s not Friday Light Nights levels of camera wizardry, but it’s shot in enough of a creative and unique fashion (particularly the panning shots of Chicago, often at night) that it doesn’t remind me of other things that are currently on tv.  I like that the show has made an effort to show us more of the characters’ interactions with one another, and in relation to the ongoing corruption arc, rather than just a straight ahead “body of the week” episode format.

That brings us to last night’s episode.  While I’ve liked the series overall, this was not my favorite outing, and I think it’s largely because it felt like a mostly self-contained whodunnit, and one that telegraphed the outcome pretty clearly.  I liked John Heard as the mayor (in that final scene with Theresa I kept waiting for him to take his tie off, grab a wrench and heroically go into the air lock to save Pega- ah, nevermind), and I definitely laughed that Voodoo Tatum was the son cum gang leader at the center of the investigation.

I continue to find Issac wildly unlikeable, and I hope the writers have a purpose for his and Vonda’s storyline, because I’m getting increasingly irritated whenever they’re on screen.  The Jarek and Theresa scenes were excellent as usual, and I’m pretty sure I’d watch Jason Clarke in just about anything.  He brings a rawness to the character that I think lends a truth to a cop character that is often missing on network police shows.  I continue to find Matt Lauria’s Chicago accent adorable, which I’m not really sure is what he’s going for, but whatever (I actually do like his character a great deal).

So all in all, no Delroy Lindo and no arc stuff, coupled with a predictable mystery plot made this one of my less favorite episodes in this show’s young life, but it continues to be something I look forward to watching each week.

(photo credit, FOX)

This entry was posted in TV. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Chicago Code – “St. Valentine’s Day Massacre”: The Queen stay the Queen

  1. thecommish says:

    I would watch CSI: Lake Wobegon. Garrison Keillor would knock CBS down on its ass.

  2. littlechick says:

    We can’t share virtual space if you are going to subtly knock Law & Order!!

  3. runyetirun says:

    Law & Order? Are you talking about the show where the DA is a DA until he doesn’t want to be DA, so then he’s a cop because he used to be a cop, but we didn’t know he used to be a cop and we thought he liked being a DA, and it’s all because no one in America likes Skeet Ulrich? That Law & Order?

  4. thecommish says:

    I will never be able to take Alfred Molina seriously after Spider-Man 2.

Leave a Reply

