Pop Culture Guilty Pleasures – Constantine

The more virtual time we spend together, the more you are going to come to see that I have some really geeky interests.  Chief among these are comic book-based movies.  I don’t read any comic books, and I’m certainly not down with any of the intricacies of the comic book world, but I do love their movies.

[Caution: Spoilers ahead.]

The movie Constantine was released in 2005, and featured Keanu Reeves and Rachel Weisz as the primary headliners.  The movie currently holds a 6.7 rating on IMDb and a 46% rating on Rotten Tomatoes – nothing too horrible, but nothing outstanding.  Rotten Tomatoes seems to indicate that the audience found it generally enjoyable though.

I love this movie for its more “minor” characters, if you will.  While Reeves and Weisz are the main characters in the film and get the most screen time, I take a lot more pleasure in watching the nuanced performances of Peter Stormare, Tilda Swinton, and Gavin Rossdale.

Despite his itty bitty screen time, Stormare plays Lucifer to perfection.  His appearance in the climactic scene is hands down my favorite scene in the entire movie.  His slick portrayal of the devil – will dressed in a lovely white suit – is the highlight of the movie for me. Constantine made me a huge fan of Stormare (and his amazing VW “Unpimp the Auto” commercials only helped).

I also love Swinton’s performance as the deceptive Gabriel, and it’s easy to see why she’s owned that androgynous image of hers.  He’s (she’s?) a fairly central character to the movie, but gets less screen time than she deserves.  That being said, she makes every appearance worthwhile.

I don’t know much about Gavin Rossdale, but I do enjoy him in this movie.  As Balthazar, some type of demon, he also slicks up the screen with his performance.  He wears his suit great, and he exudes just the right amount of charm and sleaze.

I know nothing about the comic book series it’s based on, and Constantine is a bit darker than the types of movies I usually gravitate towards, but these three standout performances secure this movie’s place as one of my guilty pleasures.

This entry was posted in Film, Guilty Pleasures. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Pop Culture Guilty Pleasures – Constantine

  1. Kevin says:

    Have to disagree with you here, i found Constantine almost unwatchable. If it was not for Rachel Weisz ( Who in my opinion gave way too much to this film than she should have) and Peter Stormare very small role as the devil, i would not have gotten through the film. Outside of Weisz and Stormare, the rest of the movie was a incoherent mess.

  2. Pingback: Fancy Schmancy People » Blog Archive » Gavin Rossdale Movie

Leave a Reply

