The Best Movies I’ve Never Seen

I was born in the early 1980s, which means I grew up during the height of Disney’s great animation (you’ll never, ever convince me that there’s a better string of Disney movies than The Little Mermaid, Beauty and the Beast, Aladdin, and The Lion King (another post for another day)).  I remember going to see The Little Mermaid when I just a little girl, and bawling my eyes out at the end of it, asking my aunt, “But does that mean she’s never going to see her dad again?”  Of course this means nothing, because I don’t think I’ve yet to find a movie that doesn’t make me cry.

Now let’s pretend you’re my age, or close to it.  Close your eyes, and think about all the great movies you grew up with.  The ones that are indelibly tied to your childhood, youth, and teenage memories.  You’ve probably seen them dozens of times and can quote all your favorite scenes.  Maybe you even have some of them borderline memorized.

Can you picture these movies?  Do you have a list of sorts?  Good.

Because I can guarantee you that there’s an 80 – 90% chance that I have never seen any of the movies you’re thinking of right now.

We’ll start off with some of the ones that seem to offend the most:

  • Back to the Future – I haven’t seen any of these, despite dating a guy who was minorly obsessed (watched it weekly).
  • Indiana Jones – I saw the Kingdom of the Crystal Skull, but haven’t seen any others.
  • Ghostbusters

These movies don’t get seem to offend quite as much:

  • Bill and Ted’s Excellent Adventure
  • Caddyshack
  • The Exorcist
  • Fast Times at Ridgemont High
  • Footloose
  • The Goonies
  • Monty Python and the Holy Grail
  • National Lampoon’s Christmas Vacation
  • National Lampoon’s Vacation
  • Revenge of the Nerds
  • Saving Private Ryan
  • Scarface
  • Sixteen Candles
  • Stand By Me
  • Pretty in Pink

Entire series I’ve never seen:

  • Alien/Aliens
  • Lethal Weapon
  • Police Academy
  • Rambo
  • Rocky (Okay, I did see Rocky Balboa)

Lastly, here are some movies I saw “late” in life – with the exception of The Princess Bride (saw it when I was 16), I didn’t see any of these movies until I was in college or post-college.  I don’t like any of them.

  • The Breakfast Club
  • Ferris Bueller’s Day Off
  • The Princess Bride
  • Pulp Fiction (have tried to watch this one a few times now and just can’t stand it)
  • Top Gun

And I’m sure there’s plenty of others – just because it’s not on this list doesn’t mean I’ve seen it.

I have, however, seen Transformers upwards of 20 times…

This entry was posted in Film. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Best Movies I’ve Never Seen

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention The Best Movies I’ve Never Seen | -- Topsy.com

  2. Pingback: Pop Culture Guilty Pleasures – Sneakers |

  3. Pingback: ET, Go Home | It's Only Bullets: Your Guide to Pop Culture

Leave a Reply

